Colorado law (Board of Health rule 6 CCR 1009-2) requires all students attending Colorado schools and licensed child cares to be vaccinated against certain diseases, unless an exemption is filed. The minimum number and spacing of doses is set forth in the Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices (ACIP) Child and Adolescent Immunization Schedules. Meeting the initial vaccine requirements does not excuse a student from meeting additional requirements. In addition to the vaccines required for school entry, there are several vaccines recommended by the ACIP that provide protection against other diseases. These include Meningococcal, Hepatitis A, Rotavirus, Human papillomavirus and Influenza.
Vaccines required to enter child care
Vaccines required to enter school (K-12)
*Students 4 through 6 years of age are required to have their final doses of DTaP, IPV,MMR and Varicella prior to kindergarten entry.
**Students are required to have Tdap prior to entry into 6th grade. One dose of Tdap is required for 6th through 12th grade.
Students are required to have Tdap prior to entry into 6th grade. One dose of Tdap is required for 6th through 12th grade.
If your student needs a vaccine exemption please click here for more information.
Colorado law requires all students attending Colorado schools and licensed child cares to be vaccinated against certain diseases unless they have a certificate of medical or nonmedical exemption on file. You must file a certificate of exemption at each school, or child care the student attends. To protect unvaccinated children, students with an exemption from one or more required vaccines may be kept out of a school or child care during a disease outbreak.
- Students with a completed Certificate of medical exemption (signed by a medical doctor, doctor of osteopathic medicine, advanced practice nurse or delegated physician's assistant) need to submit this Certificate only once unless the student’s information or school changes.
- You can submit a Certificate of medical exemption with CDPHE to include in the Colorado Immunization Information System (CIIS). Check with your student’s school, child care or college/university to find out if they want the printed copy of the Certificate of medical exemption or, if they can access the “submitted” document from CIIS.
- Per Colorado Revised Statutes 25-4-2403(2.5), immunizing providers must submit medical exemption data to CIIS.
Non-Medical Exemption-IMPORTANT!!! PLEASE READ!
Beginning in the 2021-2022 school year (7/1/2021), the process of submitting a nonmedical exemption will change. There will be two ways to submit a nonmedical exemption.
Be sure to check with your student’s school, child care or college/university to find out if they need a printed copy of the Certificate of nonmedical exemption or if you submit to CIIS, the school is able to access the Certificate of nonmedical exemption from CIIS.
- Submit the Certificate of nonmedical exemption WITH a signature from an immunizing provider in Colorado who is a medical doctor, doctor of osteopathic medicine, advanced practice nurse or delegated physician’s assistant OR
- Submit the Certificate of nonmedical exemption received upon the completion of CDPHE’s Online Immunization Education Module.
- Parents of students in preschool or child care must submit nonmedical exemptions at 2, 4, 6, 12 and 18 months of age. These exemptions expire when the next vaccines are due or when the child enrolls in kindergarten.
- Parents of students in grades K-12 claiming a nonmedical exemption must submit one annually. Nonmedical exemptions expire June 30th each year. If you submit a Certificate of nonmedical exemption on or before June 30th, it will not be valid for the upcoming school year unless you submit the exemption during early registration.
- Students in college/university claiming a nonmedical exemption must submit a Certificate of Nonmedical Exemption upon enrollment.
Online Immunization Education Module
- In order to successfully move through this Online Module and obtain the Certificate, you must review the “Technical Guidance and Troubleshooting Document”
- The Online Immunization Education Module is available 24 hours a day and seven days a week. It can take approximately 20 minutes to complete.
- At the completion of the module, you will be able to complete an electronic form to obtain a Certificate of nonmedical exemption. You can complete this form for more than one child without having to retake the course.
- IMPORTANT: Certificates of Nonmedical Exemption expire each year on June 30th. If you submit a Certificate of nonmedical exemption on or before June 30th, it will not be valid for the upcoming school year unless you submit the Certificate during early registration.